Watching Way Too Much TV For You!

For the rest of the week, I am looking back at the past television season and doing some top 5’s for what worked in a ratings-challenged year. Up first are the new entries that graced the screen this year and in my book there were quite a few success to talk about:

1. Modern Family – For me, the new show that made me love TV more than anything this year was ABC’s truly original family sitcom. No new show was so widely love in my family as it really rang true in so many ways and most of all made me laugh every single week. Nothing can beat that pilot, that I have now most likely watched 50 times, and I just have a truly special place in my heart for it.

2. The Good Wife – My biggest surprise new show was easily The Good Wife because going in to the new year I knew it had a great script but I did not know such a big emotional edge would be present by the combination of great writing and its star Julianna Margulies. A show I looked forward to each week and will continue to for years to come.

3. Parenthood Parenthood had a rocky life from deaths to recast to cancer, things were getting in the way for a wonderful cast and creator’s little show on NBC, but after the Olympics, Parenthood didn’t care about any of that and they put on one hell of a show. For the past 13 weeks, Parenthood got better and better and without my knowledge it seemed turned into a show I thought about a lot and cared for the characters a great deal.

4. Life Unexpected – Liz Tigelaar and her cast and crew deserve great things and when LUX was renewed at Upfronts I was so, so happy for them. The CW could have easily not believed in the Portland family drama but they did and could not be more grateful for having this heartwarming show on the air next year.

5. Glee – I think most people doing this would have Glee much higher on this list but I think if recent weeks are any indication I am putting it in the right place. When Glee, premiered for real in the fall, I was smitten, my friends and family were smitten, and each week it would be a trip to iTunes to buy the songs, and re watch episodes but now as the season is closing I could almost not care less. Plot holes, continuity, and bad writing have steered me away from a show I still want to be good as I like the actors and the music but I just need more respect to the viewers and I hope Ryan Murphy gives us that.

Just Missed the mark: Cougar Town, The Middle, and The Vampire Diaries – 3/4 of ABC comedy block was a highlight of the season for me and both Cougar Town and The Middle turned into shows I did not think I would like. Cougar Town is a entirely new show that when it started and The Middle reminds me of good old Home Improvement days. On the other hand, something so 2010 like vampires was made new again with Vampire Diaries and it was this year’s biggest guilty pleasure for me.

Leave a Reply

